Promoting world-class excellence and chievement through The Queen's Anniversary Prizes for Higher and Further Education

“The award encouraged us to extend our suite of surgical masters programmes and has attracted substantial philanthropic funding to increase our global outreach.  It led directly to support from a major US-based foundation to fund six scholarships annually for ophthalmology masters students in low and middle income countries.” 

Professor James Garden FRSE Regius Professor of Clinical Surgery at the University of Edinburgh.

The Prizes


The Queen's Anniversary Prizes for Higher and Further Education 

The Prizes are a biennial award scheme which is within the UK’s national honours system.  As such they are the UK’s most prestigious form of national recognition open to a UK academic or vocational institution.  The honour is distinctive in recognising the institution rather than an individual or team. The scheme was established in 1993 with the approval of The Queen and all-party support in Parliament.

All eligible universities and colleges in the UK are invited to enter the biennial rounds of the scheme.  The assessment process is overseen by the Awards Council of the Trust which makes the final recommendations which are submitted to the Prime Minister for advice to The Queen.  

The Awards Ceremony at Buckingham Palace 

The awards are presented every two years by The Queen, with The Duke of Edinburgh, in recognition of work by universities and colleges which is judged to be of outstanding excellence.  The Trust is charged by the Palace with the duty of organising and managing the scheme, which is run independently of government.  Ten rounds of the scheme have so far been completed.  The eleventh round  will be held in 2014-2016.