Promoting world-class excellence and chievement through The Queen's Anniversary Prizes for Higher and Further Education


  • Appointment of Trustees

    Story posted 16 December 2010

    The Trust appointed five new Trustees in May 2010.  They joined the existing Trustees, listed immediately below:

    Kieran Poynter (Chairman of the Trust)

    is a chartered accountant who spent 37 years with PriceWaterhouseCoopers, the last eight as Chairman and Senior Partner.  Since retiring from PWC at the end of 2008 he has been appointed as a non-executive to the boards of three public companies and three private companies.  He was appointed a Trustee of The Royal Anniversary Trust in 2006 and appointed Chairman in 2010 following the retirement of the Founder Chairman, Sir Robin Gill KCVO. 

    Clive Mather

    retired from Shell in 2007 having been Chairman of Shell UK and then President and CEO of Shell Canada Ltd.  He is currently Chairman of the Christian international relief agency Tearfund, the Shell Pensions Trust Ltd. and Iogen Corporation, a Canadian biotech company.  He is a member of the Alberta Premier's Council for Economic Strategy and serves on a number of foundations and charities.  Clive has held various UK public appointments including Commissioner, the Equal Opportunties Commission, Chairman of BITC's Corporate Responsibility Academy and Deputy Chairman of the Windsor Leadership Trust.

    David Mayhew

    David Mayhew is Chairman of J.P. Morgan Cazenove and a Vice Chairman of J. P. Morgan.  He joined Cazenove in 1969 and became the firm's dealing partner in 1972 and partner in charge of their Capital Markets Department in 1986.  David became Chairman of Cazenove Group plc on incorporation in 2001 and of J. P. Morgan Cazenove and Cazenove Captial Holdings in 2005 on the setting up of the joint venture.  He is also a member of the Takeover Panel Appeal Board.

    Harvey McGrath

    Harvey McGrath is Chairman of Prudential plc, Chairman of the London Development Agency and Vice Chair of the Mayor of London's Skills and Employment Board.  He is the former Chairman of Man Group plc and of London First.  Harvey is currently a Trustee of New Philanthropy Capital, Chairman of The Princes Teaching Institute, Chairman of, President of Children and Families across Borders and a Trustee of the Mayor's Fund for London.

    The following were appointed Trustees in May 2010:

    Lady Balfour of Burleigh CBE

    is a director of various public companies, Chairman of the Nuclear Liabilities Fund and the Nuclear Liabilities Financing Assurance Board; a Trustee of the Carnegie Trust for the Universities of Scotland, the National Library of Scotland and the Trusthouse Charitable Foundation.  An historian, her books include the four volume edition of Richard Crossman's Diaries and, most recently, an account of espionage behind the lines in the Great War. 

    Damon Buffini

    Damon is a founding partner of Permira and was Chairman and Managing Partner from 1997-2010 during which period Permira's funds under management grew from 1.9 billion to over 20 billion Euros. Damon currently represents Permira Funds on the board of NDS Group Ltd and Hugo Boss.  He is a co-founder of Breakthrough and Social Business Trust, an initiative to grow social enterprises by utilising the knowledge, skills and capital of UK businesses.  Damon is also President of Fairbridge, a UK charity supporting over 4,000 young people annually, and is a member of the Cambridge University Endowment Fund Advisory Board. 

    Professor Brenda Gourley

    Professor Brenda Gourley's career in academia and academic management led to appointments as Vice Chancellor of the University of KwaZulu Natal in South Africa and subsequently as Vice-Chancellor and CEO of The Open University in the UK, from which she retired in 2009.  She has held various positiions in the international arena and is a frequent contributor to international conferences.  An accountant by profession, Profesor Gourley is currently a board member of a number of companies and institutions in the public as well as private sectors.

    Sir Richard Mottram GCB

    Richard Mottram is chairman of Amey plc and of the Defence Science and Technology Laboratory; vice chairman of the Ditchley Foundation and a Governor of Ashridge Business School.  He is a Visiting Professor in the Department of Government at the London School of Economics and Political Science.  He was formerly a civil servant and, from 1992-2007, held a number of permanent secretary posts.

    Professor Sir William Wakeham FREng.

    Following 30 years at Imperial College London as Professor of Chemical Physics and Deputy Rector, Professor Wakeham became Vice-Chancellor at the University of Southampton in 2001, a post from which he retired in 2009.  Professor Wakeham is now Vice-President and Honorary international Secretary of the Royal Academy of Engineering, Chair of SEPnet, a network of six physics departments in the South East of England, and Chair of the Exeter Science Park Company.